Goodness! I don't even know where to begin and I am so exhausted that I don't know how well I will get my thoughts across. I have been processing a lot lately and its overwhelming my brain with tiredness. I will begin with a narration of our epic adventure....I apoligize in advance for the longevity of this particular blog...


There we were silly Americans with our two cars all packed as we headed out onto the open African road. I rode with my sister Mariah and two brothers Nate and Drew in the back of the Landcruiser which always makes for an interesting ride along the bumpy terrain.


We swerved for a couple hours around pot holes, pedestrians and cars finally making a pitstop next to a river to eat lunch. I think the bean sandwiches may be beginning to grow on me.... :S I then decided it was time to concur a fear and use the African woods for a bathroom. So Mariah and I headed along the trail to find a clearing. And just know that it was successful :) .. We then piled back into the cars for the rest of the ride to D'ebel Abanga. We arrived there late in the afternoon and began to set up camp. By camp I mean we hung wire between two trees and a post and then hung mosquito nets on the wire to cover up our air matresses. It was quite the set up when all was complete with about 21 air matresses total. We ran around with and held the kids for a while before our next task began. :)


Then our night got more exciting as we split up into two teams to go tell the people in the village that we would be showing the Jesus film at 7pm. 
So we took our van ride back over the bridge and began to walk with the local pastor. He did the talking mostly we were just there so they knew we were there. They don't see many white people out in the villages so we stick out fairly well. It was a different perspective getting to see the people and their living conditions up close and personal. After about an hour we made it back to the van and headed back to the church for dinner. 

We roasted hot dogs over the fire and they were delicious. Then all the kids and adults began to show up for the film. The film was in their native language and after it finished the pastor spoke about making an active decision to follow Christ and then prayed inviting those who wanted to repeat after him. It was truly a moment of God's perfect will being done here on earth. And left me inspired wanting to be more bold in my walk with Christ. I know someday I will see each of those individuals in heaven because of God's grace and love that was present last night and moving in their hearts and lives.

 After the film we made a trek out to the African jungle to use the restroom. Let me tell you... that was an adventure.. we walked out and all around was darkness and you could hear the creatures and bugs making noises and you think to yourself.. hold it or possibly get eaten alive :) ... great thought right?... so anyways the few of us managed to use the restroom without being attacked... but it felt like a real possibility! Then we laughed the whole way back about how ridiculous this entire situation was. Probably the most African I have felt during my entire time here and we were using mattresses and mosquito nets...were wimps ;)... Then we crawled into our mosquito nets to settle in for the night. Mariah and I were in a double facing Liz and Cait in a double. So after we got all tucked in and took some ridiculous pictures we began to think about all the lovely creepy crawling creatures that might crawl into bed with us. Then we heard Allyson scream as a big beetle fell on her face and moments later she smashed a gigantic spider. At this point I am thinking... what the heck are we doing out here? All I could do was picture God looking down and laughing at us and the current situation. I always appreciate God's sense of humor. Oh the joys of life. Then Papa Tim chimed into our conversation and it went to a whole other level of hilariousness. I wish I could have recorded the conversation that took place last night. It was wonderful. So after we finally quieted down and our whole family was silent the realization of how much sleep I would be getting set in. You see, it just so happened that right across the street from us there was a very large group of Gabonese people having a tribal funeral/celebration thingy complete with loud drums, cowbells, and song. ALL NIGHT LONG! No joke... like really??? Really ... But then again we were in a village in the middle of  Africa.. so what isn't a possibility?? So I drifted into the night. I swear that I never slept longer than 45 minutes at a time before waking and seeing Mariah asleep thinking, thats not fair and then thinking about the spiders and then drifting back to sleep, to the sounds of the loud drums which would wake me again and again until morning came around. 

Waking up to roosters crowing and walking around your bed is rather funny and kinda makes you want to hurt something when you wake up feeling and looking like you just got hit by a very large semi-truck! But I was filled with energy after eating a donut and bread and all the adorable kids showed up. This is around 7am we are talking. So after taking down our beds (found two spiders on mine, glad I found them in the morning!) we got in the cars and drove up the road to the local church plant. Three of the interns were here last summer on a team and they worked at this site digging out for the foundation and laying the cornerstones. So they were a bit stunned to find the entire foundation overgrown with trees and plants...But within the next hour the group of us had the trenches clear of plants and debris and a huge pile in the center of the foundation to be burned. I hacked at bushes with a Machete it felt great! I had a whole bunch of energy that had to be God given with the amount of sleep I got. It was a great team effort and we finished hours before we thought we would. Praise God! By the time we were finished I was sweating like crazy and my hair looked like it was from decades ago. I had a sweat head band propping up my bangs. :) 

So alas our African village adventure was complete and full of much laughter and many deep thoughts that God placed on my heart. The ride home was great, your prayers are truly the protection around us here. Especially when it comes to traveling mercies. So thank you for your continuous prayers! We got home in time for lunch and had a wonderfully peaceful afternoon before bringing our sister Allyson to the airport... sadness... and our brother Jon-Marc arriving home safely from Cameroon...yay... So it has been an eventful few days.. but heres a look at some of the thoughts God placed on my heart during this time...

In the village:
The more I saw the more I realized how I can't imagine what its like to actually live as they do. And all I could do to help them was pray for each person and family that the pastor talked to. Praying that they would come to know God and find hope in Him. Honestly, I think God meets people here in different ways. When you live to survive I think you are more open to a God that offers hope and eternal life because literally you cannot survive on your strength alone. 


"When I come with nothing. I come with all I need." 


To find Jesus you just need to be you. He meets you where your at and He alone is enough. If all else has been stripped away leaving you broken and alone He is more than enough. All God asks of us is to accept Him and believe He is our Savior and died for our sins. Then live a life that brings Him praise and glory. He offers us a choice Salvation and eternal life with our creator or eternal separation. This was the message presented in the Jesus film and explained to them by their local pastor. And as I sat there on the hard African dirt surrounded by many men, women and children on wooden benches beneath your beautiful skies you overwhelmed me with your presence and your love. How privilaged was I that I got to sit there in your presence and not only hold one of your precious children (who was created in your image), and not only be in the heart of Africa, but also was privilaged to witness the many voices of the Gabonese young and old asking you, our Father in heaven, to live in them and save them from their sins. Your kingdom was literally growing in front of my ears and eyes. What a beautiful thing it is when even one person turns to Christ! Think of all the rejoicing in heaven! It was truly remarkable and peaceful. And as I sat there holding this small boy my legs and feet grew uncomfortable I felt God tugging at my heart saying, "Daughter, this isn't about your comfort and your plans. Its about mine. You don't choose your timing, I do. I am in control." I want nothing more than to humble myself before the Lord, surrendering everything I have and am to be used by Him. And I have found thus far in my life that in the times of uncomfort I find myself closest to God. 

I can honestly tell you that the feeling of holding one of God's children in your arms is one of the greatest feelings in the world. Especially when all they want to do is cling to you. And I want the same for my life. I want to cling to Jesus in all that I do. This life isn't about me, its about him. I can see and feel his beauty all around me in the smiles, eyes, hearts, and voices of the Gabonese people and here being content doesn't depend on the size of your paycheck. The promise of God alone echoes in their songs and dances as they praise God. I am just encouraged and inspired by what I continue to see here. These people are by no means perfect but I certainly think there is something to the way they serve the Lord. I have many more thoughts and I am excited to share with you when I return which is coming far too soon. I feel like I just arrived here. I pray that God will continue to reveal His heart to us as we continue to wait upon the Lord. 

I am literally exhausted and I hope that these thoughts made some sense. All I know is that I am continually blown away by the God of the universe, the giver of every breath that I breath. I am a sinner, full of selfish desires, and even though I break His heart again and again He loves me unconditionally. There is nothing I can do to make Him love me any less and nothing I can do to make Him love me more. He shows me each day how I can live to be more like Him. He is unchanging. He is mighty, He orchestrates everything on this earth. He is forever and you and I will pass away someday from this life. So as I challenge those of you reading this I ask you the same thing that the Gabonese people were asked last night.... "What is it you put your hope in? What are you living for? If you were to die tomorrow where would you be?" Just stop and really think about it... And if you already are saved then, "Are you surrendering all that you have to be used by God? Are you open to His will for your life?" I know that I continuously try to make my own plans and control things but I am reminded again and again that I am merely God's steward while He breaths into me the breath of life. He knows my name and He holds me and carries me according to His will. The joy and peace of our Lord transcends all understanding and satisfies the soul. I am amazed. God Bless! 

"Come be the fire inside of me, Come be the flame upon my heart. Until you and I are one."

"Jesus, your all this heart is living for." 

"He won't relent until He has it all."

rnestine
8/7/2010 01:36:25 pm

Thank you once again Natasha...you give lots of challenge...His Word will not go on voided. PTL I can use all of it.

Reply
Patti Craig
8/8/2010 06:32:37 am

Wow, Tash - you have had so many incredible experiences!! Thanks for sharing your heart with us through your words!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.