My day began with a wonderful morning. I woke up around 7 and had a plan to visit with my sister Vicki. We went downstairs and made hot water and then Cerelac (its sorta like cream of wheat but intended for infants... :) ... but it tastes really good with peanut butter!) So we headed out to the back steps to share about our hearts and lives. 


It was so inspiring just to listen to her talk about what God has been showing her. I find that most often God is using my family here to speak into my heart and life. It just felt so great to talk with her and once again I feel like I have known her for years. We call each other kindred spirits because we have really random things in common like our love for hot water and other things that seem to have slipped my mind at the moment. But as she spoke I could relate so much of it to my own life. She's an incredible person, she will be in her final year of college at Taccoa Falls. She just finished her nursing school and will be taking missions classes this year. I can tell God is going to do so many amazing things through her. I feel privilaged to have met her and to call her my friend and sister :) . We ended up talking until around 9:40 and then we had a sorta second breakfast of frosted flakes with cookies crumbled and peanut butter.. haha.. it was great. 


The week is slowly winding down as we are preparing to leave. We helped put away some air matresses this morning and then five girls from Nzeng-Ayong came to spend time with us. They are the sweetest girls, they are all in one family as step sisters and just beautiful girls that love the Lord on the inside and out! And after we spent some time talking and singing and dancing with one another we said goodbye. It was really hard. These are some of the friendships I have made and kept in touch with over the last year and its weird not knowing when I will next see them. But it has been such a blessing to see them and spend time with them again. I hope that someday if God brings me back here that I will be able to speak French better so that I can communicate more clearly with all the Gabonese that I have met here. Also, Josue showed up another guy from Nzeng-Ayong. He is like a brother and has been such a blessing. His faith and perserverence to seek God have inspired me throughout the last year. Whenever you ask a Gabonese about their future I am always encouraged to here them tell of their dreams but then to add the phrase, "If God allows." It really challenges me to let God take me day by day instead of making my own plans. And another thing about the Gabonese that I have noticed is their drive to pray for one another. I know for certain when they tell me they are praying for me that they indeed are. So it was great to be able to spend time talking to Josue this morning. I kept running into things all day I think I forget that I have these things on my body called hips.. So i somehow managed to hit a key sticking out of a cupboard and 2 wires sticking out of the couch. And somehow managed to hit my elbow on our door upstairs. Sometimes I wonder about myself. But then I just laughand continue on with life. 


We had pizza and nuggets for lunch and then around 3 Jon Roman came to take us to the tourist market for one last time. And the afternoon turned to a total TIA day. It was sorta raining which reminded me of home :) and then suddenly our driver pulls the car to the side of the road. Apparently the engine was overheating. So then after a failed attempt at using the little water in a few of our bottles (TIA) he closed his car door and headed up the road. Leaving us brothers and sisters in the car with Yoann and Josue. And all we could think is oh boy how long will he be gone. So we began to sing lovely songs together at the top of our lungs like Forever Young... as Taxis full of Gabonese stared at us.  :) And just enjoyed our time together even though the car was extremely warm! Jon Roman returned about an hour later with a bunch of bottles of anti freeze. He then poured them in and tossed the bottles to the side of the road (TIA)... We then made it to the nearest gas station where he put in more antifreeze. And drove up the road aways leaving some of our siblings behind to buy veggies. He was a bit cranky (he hadn't eaten all day) and it was hilarious when he got back in the car and told us, "A hungry man is an angry man." He smiled and we all laughed. We eventually made it to the tourist market. There are some really exciting things there. :) Its always a fun experience to barter with the Gabonese.


We left the market and stopped at a bigger grocery store to get some last items for our fajita dinner. It was the most American that I have felt since I have been here. Reminded me of the grocery stores back home. It was 8 when we got back into the car and we knew dinner would be late tonight but it was a TIA kinda day. We got home and probably ate our delicious fajita dinner complete with handmade tortillas around 9. Yum yum. I think all of us were just plain exhausted from today. Because the conversation for the rest of the night at dinner and afterwards was just ridiculous and hilarious and I was enjoying writing down my families words in my journal to laugh at later. My eyes were filled with tears of laughter for the rest of the night. I just love these people so much. 


Tomorrow we are having a beach day to just basque in God's beautiful creation and celebrate as a family. I am looking forward to it. I have been staying up too late and so sleep is sounding wonderful at the moment. I cannot believe I will be back home in about 4 days. Thats insane! I cannot wait to see you all and share with you all the things that I am learning. Our God is so good and faithful and His love endures forever! 


Have a wonderful night. Thanks for reading and may God's love and blessings overflow in your hearts and lives. :) 
Ernestine
8/9/2010 11:39:01 am

Thank you for making it possible to see Gabon & the Gabonese through your eyes. It waa sacrificial, You were tired most nights nut full of blessing.

Reply
Kramer
8/9/2010 11:47:27 am

I used part of your blog in a message I gave the other day to family members, thanks for all the updates!

Reply



Leave a Reply.